Competing for the Global Middle Class


G5 Emblem, the five leading emerging economies...

Image via Wikipedia

Three types of companies are jockeying for position in emerging economies, seeking to capture the loyalty of billions of new consumers.

An excerpt from an excellent article in Strategy+Business by Edward Tse, Bill Russo, and Ronald Haddock

Today, leaders of multinational corporations have a lucrative opportunity on a bigger playing field: a global middle-class market. This worldwide economic phenomenon encompasses a huge customer base. In 2011, it includes about 400 million people in the mature middle classes of the U.S., Europe, and Japan, and another 300 to 500 million people  in emerging economies. This new global middle class is particularly evident in Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria, Turkey, Vietnam, and other countries with relatively large working populations and rapid economic growth rates.

In a variety of industries — including consumer packaged goods, electronics, automobiles, medical products, and agricultural equipment — corporate leaders are discovering that they must rethink their product and service lines, go-to-market strategies, and operating models to build a presence in emerging economies.

Three types of corporate players are jockeying for position in these markets:

1. Local upstarts are companies that have traditionally provided low-priced goods for bottom-of-the-pyramid customers in their home markets. They are migrating upward into their domestic middle markets as their customers become more prosperous.

2. Global aspirants are local companies that have already developed products for their domestic middle markets. Now, they seek to expand their geographic reach and power, parlaying their existing capabilities and knowledge into serving the global middle class.

3. Multinational incumbents are mature global companies, often from Japan, Europe, and the United States. They are intent on adapting their existing product lines to capture the attractive growth opportunities in emerging middle markets.

Myths and Realities

Because the case for pursuing the global middle market is compelling, and the complexities are daunting, it is understandable that many senior executives at major consumer and industrial product companies are ambivalent about — or even resistant to — the idea. Their resistance, however, should be reconsidered. It is usually based on one or more of the myths below.

Myth: It’s too early to enter the middle markets in emerging economies.

Reality: It may already be too late. The competitive collisions between local upstarts, global aspirants, and multinational incumbents are occurring at different speeds in different industries, and some industries are already becoming saturated with competitive rivals.

Myth: We can’t make money in the middle markets of emerging economies.

Reality: Yes, products aimed at the middle classes of developing nations are usually priced 20 to 40 percent lower than their counterparts in developed nations. But in emerging economies, lower prices do not necessarily mean lower profits, because the sales volume is potentially two to three times greater than the volume in more mature markets

Myth: We don’t need to alter our products — we just need to educate our customers.

Reality: In the near term, many newly minted middle-class consumers cannot afford developed-market products no matter how much they might value them. As the middle classes mature and their purchasing power grow, this will change. Nonetheless, customers in countries such as India, Brazil, and Turkey will continue to want distinctive features and options. Many of their needs, wants, and tastes stem from unique cultural or environmental conditions, and are unlikely to change soon.

Myth: Entering the global middle market will be too disruptive to our operations.

Reality: Companies need a business model suited to the task. The R&D function, for example, should avoid innovation races and the creeping elegance associated with sophisticated and expensive products. Instead, take a more local approach to innovation, designing products for specific markets. The products can then flow elsewhere, finding support and additional markets wherever they strike a chord. Investing in local R&D that can rapidly turn middle-market customer insights into products and services is another key to success.

For executives of multinational corporations, it may take a change in the conventional business mind-set to tap into global middle markets effectively. The most successful companies are establishing new business units; rethinking their decision rights and other practices; and giving their leaders the freedom, authority, financial resources, and talent needed to develop and run these businesses. The opportunities in the global middle market are worth the effort.

Full article @ http://www.strategy-business.com/article/11309?pg=all

About Georges Abi-Aad

CEO, electronic engineer with MBA in marketing. Multicultural; French citizen born in Lebanon working in the Middle East and fluent in French, English and Arabic. I have more than 30 years of proven experience in the Middle East with European know how. I am good in reorganization and in Global strategic management business. I am a dependable leader with an open approach in working with people, forging a strong team of professionals dedicated to the Company and its clientele. Perseverance is my key word. Married to Carole and having 2 children: Joy-Joelle and Antoine (Joyante!).
This entry was posted in emergin markets, Global Business, strategic management, Tutoring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Competing for the Global Middle Class

  1. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

  2. A formidable share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little bit evaluation on this. And he in actual fact purchased me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If attainable, as you become expertise, would you thoughts updating your blog with more details? It’s highly useful for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog post!

  3. I always was interested in this subject and still am, appreciate it for putting up.

  4. Carey Diles says:

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  5. eamore says:

    I do agree with all the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They are really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for starters. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  6. I do agree with all of the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They are really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for beginners. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  7. Howdy. Mainly needed to make a brief commentary and question exactly where you received your particular weblog theme I am beginning own blog and sincerely like your personal layout.

    • Many thanks for your support. Happy to know that you were happy with my post. I use WordPress Theme 12 for the layout. It is free! Please revist my blog as I update it every Wednesday 🙂

  8. Rogelio Jahr says:

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  9. I did however expertise a few technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again soon..

  10. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  11. Yo. I actually desired to firmly place a nice short observation and also let you learn that in fact I’ve been pursuing your blogging site for quite some time. Keep up the very remarkable task and I’ll be checking back again again in a little while.

  12. Looks like you have put a lot of effort in your blog, thank you for taking the time to write such useful information.

  13. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  14. You should experience a good tournament to get one of the better blogs on the internet. My goal is to endorse this kind of website!

  15. I as well as my buddies were found to be following the best information from the website and suddenly I had a terrible feeling I never expressed respect to the web site owner for those techniques. All of the women were definitely as a consequence happy to read through all of them and now have in fact been using them. Thank you for really being quite kind and then for picking this kind of outstanding issues most people are really eager to be aware of. My personal honest regret for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

  16. Henry Govoni says:

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  17. Great post I have been reading all your posts and they are really great keep up the good work.

  18. Tanie Strony says:

    I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don’t forget this website and give it a glance regularly.

  19. Respect to author , some excellent information . “To have a grievance is to have a purpose in life.” by Alen Coren.

  20. Jarred Roik says:

    This is my first time i visit here. I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! Keep up the excellent work.

  21. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thanks Nevertheless I am experiencing subject with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    • Thank you for both your comments and support. Sorry to hear about the issues with RSS. I looked into this and I am afraid there is little I can do from myside. Please keep visiting my blog as I update it every Wednesday 🙂

  22. tutaj says:

    Thank you so much for giving everyone an extraordinarily splendid chance to discover important secrets from this website. It is usually so good and as well , jam-packed with a good time for me personally and my office peers to search your site not less than three times a week to read through the newest issues you will have. And lastly, I’m so usually astounded with all the powerful secrets served by you. Selected 1 facts in this article are ultimately the very best I have ever had.

  23. Scraper T says:

    Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clearness on your put up is simply cool and that i could assume you are an expert in this subject. Well together with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.

  24. I was beeing trying to find the WWW for this info and just wanted to thank you for the post. BTW, just off topic, where can i get a version of this theme? – Thank you

  25. Thanks , I have recently been searching for information about this subject for ages and yours is the best I have discovered so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

  26. airplay amps says:

    Throughout the grand design of things you receive an A+ for hard work. Where you actually misplaced everybody was first on all the facts. You know, it is said, the devil is in the details… And that couldn’t be more correct right here. Having said that, allow me say to you just what exactly did give good results. Your writing is actually incredibly engaging and that is probably why I am making the effort in order to comment. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. 2nd, even though I can easily notice the leaps in reason you come up with, I am not necessarily confident of just how you appear to unite your points which produce the conclusion. For the moment I shall subscribe to your point but wish in the near future you link your facts much better.

    • Thx for your comments that were well noted. I, on purpose, skipped all details to keep reading interesting. My purpose is to raise awarness and incite readers to search for details. I appreciate your support and kindly ask you to keep visiting my blog as I update it every Wednesday 🙂

  27. I found a similar post on a distinct webpage and did not rather get it, but this entry explains it greater. Admire it!

  28. Awesome writing style!

  29. I think this is among the most important info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  30. Dude.. I am not much into reading, but somehow I got to read lots of articles on your blog. Its amazing how interesting it is for me to visit you very often. –

  31. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  32. Laptopy says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  33. Great site. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your effort!

  34. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what they are talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  35. My husband and i got glad when Edward could complete his inquiry out of the ideas he was given when using the blog. It’s not at all simplistic just to always be making a gift of tips and tricks that some people have been making money from. And we remember we’ve got you to thank for that. The type of explanations you’ve made, the easy website menu, the friendships you can make it possible to create – it’s mostly amazing, and it is letting our son and us reckon that this article is thrilling, which is incredibly important. Many thanks for the whole lot!

  36. Thank you a tremendous put up, would see your personal others posts. i appreciate your ideas with this, I soon became a lttle bit strike by this article. Merit again! You earn a great moment. Has wonderful data here. I think that in case more people considered it like this, they’d have got a better time frame have the suspend ofing the issue.

  37. Pingback: Pozycjonowanie Wrocław

  38. The flow of your writing is excellent and so is your post. I had wanted to read someone’s perspectives on this topic but I could not come across any good web sites with the to-the-point information which i was looking for. Therefore, I am extremely grateful to your site and specially to you. Please, do keep your blogposts refreshed.

  39. Aside from the indisputable fact that there are a number of sites which also share similar kinda blogposts such as yours, I however find myself fascinated with your writing skills. You certainly have a way of enthralling any visitors.

  40. Thank you so much for providing individuals with an extraordinarily splendid possiblity to read from this site. It’s usually so beneficial and also stuffed with fun for me and my office fellow workers to search the blog nearly three times in a week to read the latest secrets you have got. And of course, I am actually amazed considering the astounding concepts served by you. Some 2 tips in this post are unquestionably the most efficient we have ever had.

  41. stron www says:

    Merely wanna remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the content is real wonderful : D.

  42. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post

  43. I discovered your weblog website on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the superb operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. In search of forward to reading more from you in a while!…

  44. Cary Gottsch says:

    I just gigs your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed now, thanks

  45. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Competing for the Global Middle Class | Joyante's Blog . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  46. With quality information like this, I bet your site will become a masterpiece among your fellow competitors’ websites. I truly think that bookmarking your website defintely won’t be a waste of time. Please, do keep on adding interesting posts!

Leave a Reply

